RSS Feed

My Husband

I am really thankful for my husband.  I can get really grouchy sometimes.  Hangry is what I’ve heard it called before.  Where you get angry because you’re hungry.  It’s not a walk-in-the-park when you are changing habits.  But he still loves me despite my faults.  THANK YOU!

I am also really thankful that he choose to do this with me.  In fact, he lead me (gracefully) on this path. When we were first married, I ALWAYS complained about my body, and my weight.  Of course he loved me for who I was, but he wanted what was best for me.  And being obese was obviously not best.  Thankfully (for my sake) he had some weight to loose too. So he decided to set up the coffee date with our coaches, he perused the connection, and he held my hand through it.  I don’t think I would have initiated, or completed it without him.

I know it is possible to do a program without a partner or spouse, but it sure does make it easier to know you have a support along side you. Now that I am finishing up my goals (solo this time – Randy has been maintaining his goals for 6 months now)  I have a better understanding of where my clients are coming from when they say it gets hard.  Not only is it hard to be eating differently from a spouse or partner, but if they aren’t putting their habits to the grind stone with you, it can be an uphill battle.  But like I said earlier, it is possible.  I am so proud of my clients who are doing this solo.  I am so glad when they depend on me for cheerleading and coaching. That is what I’m here for. And the best part about that, is I get to celebrate with them when they overcome temptations, when they create new, healthy, habits, and cheer when they’ve reached and maintained their goals.

Thank you Randy for being my husband! I love you

.wkn9h2245564x

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

