RSS Feed

Squirrels and Fish

“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.”

~ Albert Einstein

squirrel

I have spent many hours trying to become something I am not.  I have been living for others, for their goals, and for their dreams.  I have also been trying to create a life like someone else.  I have been trying to be a squirrel, when I am really a fish.  I am a great swimmer, but not a great climber.  And rather than being proud of my swimming, all I want is what that squirrel has – the ability to climb.

I am not a squirrel.

I can look up to others, and appreciate their abilities, their talents, their drive and spirit.  Just like the fish can admire the climbing abilities of the squirrel.  But rather than wanting to just be a climber, maybe what the fish is admiring (something I can learn from) is not the ability to climb so much as he admires the squirrels tenacity to get back up the tree once he falls down.

Instead of wanting what I don’t have that I see in someone else; instead of trying to make my life mirror that of another; instead of being someone I’m not; I need to be me.  I need to step into my strengths, my talents, my dreams, my ambitions, and live this life out.

“You get what you get, and you don’t throw a fit.”

– kindergarteners

I have been given the life I’ve been give by a great God who has a greater purpose for my life than I can imagine.  He didn’t make me someone else, He made me, me.  And instead of throwing a fit about what I don’t have or can’t do, I need to embrace it and figure out how to make the best life possible with my abilities.  I need to chase after the desires in my heart with the strengths I’ve been given.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

3 responses »

  1. Love this Katie. I think you are doing a great job as a fish… keep swimming!

    Reply
  2. This was the best read and well said!!!! ….and basically so perfect!!! I love being reminded of this perspective and how good it really is to follow what the Lord has already been planning for me and placed in my design already 😉 You rock girl and keep finding your many talents, likes, appreciations and learning while swimming!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

