RSS Feed

Changing Habits

People keep asking me why I’m still following a strict eating plan.

“You’re already sooo skinny!”

“Don’t you want to enjoy the holidays?”

“How long do you have to be on a diet?”

I cringe when I hear the word diet.  Its like a dirty word in our house.  Diets are things you do to get healthy, and then quit, and then do again, and then quit, and then do a different one and then quit.

But I’ve done that kind diet thing before.  And I quit.

However, I am creating a healthy diet.  Diet, as in what I am consuming on a day-to-day basis. I am focusing on using food as my fuel source, and I want to get the most bang for my buck. I want the best food, with the most nutrients, that my body will be able to use to run optimally, while keeping everything in order and in check.

This time, I am committed to changing my life, and not dieting.  I am reaching toward a goal of health, and not running from unhealth. I’ve come to realize that if I try and change something in my life because of something negative that is happening, I am far more likely to give up once the tension or stressor is gone.  But, when I am reaching toward a goal, ie: health, I must constantly strive toward it.  You’ve never really reached health.  You’re just always on the journey.

So these questions I get on a daily basis…

I have to be honest. I’ve been wrestling with them myself.  Why am I doing this? What have I got to loose if I eat a brownie? What is this all for?

I talked with a client today and helping her work through this same issue brought some new light to my own issues.  (I love talking with clients.  They help me more than they know.)

I’ve come to the conclusion, I’m not doing this to continue to loose weight- while that is happening, I am doing it because my habit are still forming and my mindset toward food is still not where it needs to be. I am committing to being strict with myself, because I know if I am not strict right now, I will fall right back into my old habits.

As a teacher, there is a slogan I’ve heard a lot: “No smiles until Christmas Break.”  Meaning, we have to use tough love with our students until they have the understanding of our procedures and authority.  We can not treat them as buddy-buddy until January, once that healthy relationship is established.

I am still working on establishing that healthy relationship with food.  So, I’ve got no smiles for it until… January… or when ever that day comes.
So…I am willing to wrestle a little bit longer- trusting I will come out the victor, rather than quit early and hang my head the looser.

Join me won’t you? In this fight to gain

Our bodies back
Our minds back
Our health back
For our friends
For our family
For our country

Because, in reality- I need to think about this affecting more than just me, or else it doesn’t matter as much.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

