RSS Feed

Christmas Eating

Yesterday was the last day of school for the 2012 year.  The kids were loaded up with sugar cookies, hot chocolate and other goodies at their class parties.  We sang carols and genuinely had a really good last day.  The families at my school are so generous! THANK YOU!  I don’t think I’ve ever worked at a job where I’ve felt more appreciated by the people I serve.

When we were leaving school, a fellow teacher said she felt so sick from all the sugar she had ate.  I so remember feeling that way in years past.  And although it would have been great to have a cookie or a truffle, it felt great driving home not feeling sick!

And speaking of truffles, I looked at the nutrition facts on those puppies… 100+ calories and 20 grams of sugar each.  And no one can say that you just eat one!  I would eat that hole box if I even started!

Last night, my parents took Randy and I out for dinner at Portland’s oldest restaurant, Huber’s.

I had their Turkey Salad! It was delish! No need to have a pile of mashed potatoes and Spanish coffee.  I enjoyed seeing other people enoy it.  That was enough for me!

644622_10151250567355980_1018050825_n

It feels so awesome to look back from where we started a year ago on this journey.  We’ve lost the weight, and kept it off.  But more importantly, my habits are changing.  Its good to not be a glutton anymore.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

