RSS Feed

A Final Thought… 2012

I’ve been feeling very anxious lately.

I get very involved in the things I do. It’s in my nature to become, shall we say, obsessive sometimes.

Since changing my whole lifestyle, I have felt fantastic, and a bit scared about all of it. And because I’m scared that I’ll throw caution to the wind and let myself go, I over compensate and can obsess about my nutrition and exercise. Although this may bring a healthy body, it sure denies a healthy mind.

I need balance.

I’ve been thinking and talking with God a lot about this. And I am continually reminded that its not all about me. The world is full of hurting people who could use my attention more than myself.

Now I am all about helping yourself, but there comes a time when we all have to be others focused in order to get anything done, to make an impact. When you’ve done things for yourself long enough that they are habit, it’s time to move on. (Hopefully you’re doing good things habitually) I am not going to do my marriage, my relationships, humanity, the kingdom, or anything else any good when I am focusing on how good Katie’s thighs look, or what MyFitnessPal said my caloric intake was for the day.

Whoever seeks to preserve his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life will keep it.

Luke 17:33

I am loosing my life by only focusing on myself. I am wasting time that could be much better spent helping others, pouring into people, gleaning from them. When I am no longer the center of attention, I get to see the rest of the world. There is so much beauty out there, I need to go live in it!

As if God hadn’t made it clear already, Andee Zomerman spoke today at church.
Her 2012 New Years resolution was to volunteer for those who were less fortunate than she in health and wealth. And by stepping herself to the side, she was able to do bigger and better things because of it. Check out her blog,The Nature of a Servant to be inspired.

Ok- with all that being said, my New Years resolution is to stay healthy physically, and mentally. I want to focus on others more and less on myself. I want to find that happy place called balance where I can care for my health and continually maintain and improve where I’m at, all the while not obsessing about it. And it will start by being others focused.

What is your resolution this year?

20121230-213437.jpg

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

