RSS Feed

Right mindset

My brother recently sent us some Taiwanese food- I was offering them out at our party. After opening a bag of Peanuts and Sardines, I offered some around.

“I don’t eat legumes.”

We have a friend, who chooses not to eat legumes because they give him gas. Thankfully for him and the rest of us, he sticks to his choice. I’m sure it can be easier at gatherings and parties to say no to beans rather than chocolate… But there is a point to this.

He didn’t say “I can’t eat legumes.” Because, truth-be-told, he can. He is physically able to eat them. His mouth won’t seal shut at the sight of a pea or lentil. Often times when we say we can’t have something- we say it about things we really do want.
For example:
“I can’t have that cake.”
“I can’t drink.”
And more often than not, we say that with a sad face. We feel bummed out when the cake or beer or whatever is offered to us, because we can’t have it.
We are powerless, because we can’t.

But can’t is not what was said.
“I don’t eat legumes, chocolate, sugar, fried foods, beer, ect.”
There is some power in that don’t.
It means you can, but are choosing not to. It means that I have the power to say yes or say no. It means I am in control.

Change the way you think about a situation, and change the situation. Put yourself in the driver’s seat. Your addictions and temptations don’t have to control your life.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

