RSS Feed

Zucchini Rolls

On a whim, I made these for a party we hosted last week.  I wasn’t sure how they would turn out, but  they were a huge hit.

Now, if only I had a fancy camera to take fancy food pictures… then I would be set!
Zucchini Roll Ups

Ingredients:

  • • 6 medium zucchinis
  • • 1 pound of fresh spinach
  • • 1 small package of hard salami
  • • 1 package of reduced fat cream cheese
  • • 1 tbsp ground garlic
  • • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Preheat a grill, or grill pan. Slice length wise the zucchini in thin strips. Discard the first and last slice that has the most skin. Place on grill and sear until grill marks appear and the zucchini is very soft. Set aside.

2. While grilling, dice up salami. In a medium pan, cook salami at medium heat. Once the fat has liquefied, drain on to a paper towel to remove most of the grease.

3. After removing the grease from the pan, cook down spinach. Cover with lid and stir occasionally. Once spinach is wilted, press in a strainer to remove most of the moisture.

4. In a mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, cooked spinach, cooked salami, and garlic. Stir until well mixed. Do a taste test to see if it needs salt or pepper. Most salamis are very salty, so I leave the salt out.

5. Roll a tablespoon of the spinach and cream cheese mixture in each zucchini slice. Hold with a tooth pick. Best served chilled.

Enjoy!

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

