RSS Feed

Meat Pie

I’ve been reading a lot about the Paleo Lifestyle of eating.  It’s intriguing.  I saw a recipe for a quiche that the chef replaced the flaky pie crust with a crust made from meat.  I like meat!  I can do this!  In fact, I have a freezer full of top quality ground beef that my family raised and butchered.  Even better.

The caveman would be proud.  Family raise cow.  Family butcher cow. Family eat cow.

No exchange of hands here.  meat pie 5

Ingredients:

Meat Pie 1

  • 1 pound of ground meat (I used beef, but turkey or venison would be great)
  • 1/4 cup pesto (I used home made which doesn’t look as pretty as the store bought stuff so I cooked it in with the beef – thats why it’s not pictured)
  • 1 pound of cubed butternut squash
  • 5 green onions, sliced – divided
  • 1Tbsp olive oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Cook the beef with the pesto.  I divided it into two pie dishes.  You can use one dish and end up with thicker slices.  Your choice.
  3. In the same pan you cooked the meat, put in the squash and the whites of the green onions.  Add a few TBSP of water and bring to medium heat.  Allow steam to soften the squash.  Add olive oil once steam has evaporated.  Stir and sauté.
  4. In a mixing bowl, combine eggs, egg whites, chopped chives (the green stems of the onions), and the cottage cheese. Use a stick blender to puree or beat really well with a fork.

Meat Pie 25. Once squash is browned, pour on top of meat.

6. Pour egg mixture on top of the pie.

Meat Pie 3

7. Bake in oven for 35 minutes.

8. During the last 5 minutes of cooking, top with cheese.

meat pie 4

Enjoy!

 meat pie 5

This is a great breakfast, brunch or even a dinner option. Serve with a big side salad or some green beans and you’ve got yourself a meal.

Feel free to use different veggies if you’re not a big fan of squash. If you try this, share how it turned out for you in the comments.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

One response »

  1. This is Katie’s dad, and I made the meat pie for dinner (we love butternut squash). I wish I could attach a picture, cause it turned out beautiful. I forgot to add the cheese at the end, and found that I didn’t need it. It was delicious. Thanks Katie for helping to keep us healthy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

