RSS Feed

Mindfulness Take 1

Part of having a healthy body comes from having a healthy mind.  After all, the mind is part of the body.  Its our control center, our computer, our driver. And if it is malfunctioning, the rest of the machine can only operate successfully for a time.  Once our mind shuts down, the rest will follow suit.

We don’t give credit to our mind, and our thoughts much.  So many people, myself included, can easily become slave to being controlled by our thoughts, rather than controlling them.  We live our lives in the past, or in the dreams of the future and never experience true life -right now.

I just watched a video on mindfulness.  A TED talk.  I love the idea of TED talks.  I may not agree with what every speaker says, but its an enriching and powerful thing when people are allowed to share.  This TED talk, by Andy Puddicombe is about mindfulness.  He talks about taking 10 minutes everyday to meditate.

I used to think that meditation was sinful.  In my naive view of it, I thought it was like prayer but to a created god.  I thought you had to chant or hum and sit criss cross apple sauce.  But in reality, its just centering your mind back to the present.  Its allowing yourself to live in the NOW.

To have balance in my life, I have to have a healthy mind. I need to balance the past with the future, in the NOW. I need to have a healthy body that is lead by a healthy mind.

Take 10 minutes to watch this video, and then have 10 minutes of being mindful.

imagesAfter you watch the video and practice mindfulness, share in the comments what you thought.

 

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

One response »

  1. Ok, so that was fun. I feel like I had a chance to relax. I am the person he mentioned in the video that always has so much going on in my mind that doing nothing feels so foreign. I was sitting in my husband’s office, computers, phones, binders all around me, and I pursposefully ignored it all. It felt great it live in the now, and RELAX. Now I feel like I am more prepared to take on the day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

