RSS Feed

Freedom to Do

FREEDOM

images-1

To be Free

What does it mean to be “free?”

We can say that to be Not Free would mean to be under the power of something other than yourself.  To have something or someone controlling you.

I heard a pastor say that Freedom is not necessarily the ability to do what ever we want, but rather to desire to do what is right and the ability to do so.

I believe there is a lot of truth in that.

When I think about my freedom now, it is apparent in comparison to my old life.  A few years ago, I was under the control of food.  I scheduled my day around food.  I thought about food, ALL THE TIME. My emotions were lead by and soothed by food.  I ran to food, I followed food, I loved food. And it had a mighty grip on me.  Although you might say I did all of these things out of my own will, I was unable to stop. I was addicted.  Its funny how so many addicts make the statement that they can “quit when ever they want to.” But the problem with addiction is that no matter how hard you want to, its nearly impossible to quit without assistance.  Although I ate WHATEVER I WANTED!!! I by no means was free.  I was trapped.  Trapped under the weight of food, how it controlled my emotions, my body, my health.

I thank God that I found help.  That I got out.  I became freed!

Now I am FREE.  I am in control of food, food is no longer in control of me.  It is utterly amazing the freedom that comes when you leave an addiction behind.  I feel much more free now, even though I don’t eat everything under the sun.  I am so much freer now that I do not run my emotions on how food makes me feel.  I am so much more free and in CONTROL of my life.  Instead of desiring what ever the heck I want, what I want is what is right for me.  I have a freedom of mind, and a peace beyond words.  If I had to give up something that once felt like a freedom to gain this new freedom, it was well worth the loss.

And what a blessing it has been to help others find this freedom.  I am so delighted to hear story after story of my clients and friends who are radically changing their lives, taking control and gaining freedom!

 

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

