RSS Feed

Squash Quesadillas

I love pinterest.  Who doesn’t? I love to just browse the pages and look at all the pretty pictures.

I’ve had a butternut squash sitting on my self for days, calling to be cooked.  Not wanting to cook it in vain, I searched high and low on pinterest for the best use of it.  Squash Tacos kept popping up.

I put my own twist on a recipe and made Squash Quesadillas.

Squash QuesodillasIngredients:

  • 1/2 a butternut squash, cubed (about 3 cups)
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 a yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and finely diced
  • 1 can of beans, drained (your choice, black, pinto, kidney, ect.)
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1/2 cup of chopped cilantro
  • 1 Tbsp taco seasoning
  • cheese of choice
  • corn tortillas

In a large pan, add squash with a 1/4 inch of water.  Bring to a boil and steam for a few minutes.  Once somewhat soft, pour squash into a strainer.  In the same pan, heat oil over medium-high heat.  Add onion and jalapeño.  Reintroduce squash, and brown.  Stir in beans, tomatoes, cilantro and taco seasoning.

On a baking sheet, place tortillas with a bit of cheese on each.  On half the tortillas, place a scoop of filling.  Bake for 5 minutes at 350 degrees.  Remove and place the cheese only tortilla on top of the squash topped shells and back again for a few minutes.

Enjoy with a dollop of sour cream and salsa if you so desire.  They are great on their own.

 

The filling will make many quesadillas.  If you have any left overs, it makes a great topping for a salad.

 

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

