RSS Feed

Lara Bars

I like protein bars.  They are quick and easy, and if you do your research and look hard enough, you can find ones with good protein, low sugars and minimal added junk.

Lara Bars are awesome.  They are full of only REAL ingredients.  In a world where real doesn’t happen very often, these bars are like bars of gold.

But……

And there’s always a but….

Lara bars are more than a buck a piece.

I like to accept any challenge, especially one in the kitchen.  So looking at the ingredients list on a Lara Bar, I found myself experimenting.  Basically, the bars consist of some sort of dried fruit that has been reconstituted and pureed, and chopped nuts and seeds.

I’ve experimented with a few varieties so far, but I actually took a picture of this one.

Lara bar

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of dried and pitted dates
  • 2 cups of raisins, divided
  • 2 cups of cashews, divided
  • 1 cup of almonds
  • 1 cup of sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup of pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup soy or whey protein powder (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees.  Using a food processor, or a Vitamix, blend 1 cup of cashews, 1 cup of almonds, 1 cup sunflower and 1 cup pumpkin seeds until powdery. Set aside in a large mixing bowl.
  2. In the same food processor or Vitamix, blend 1 cup of raisins and 1 cup of dates with a 1/3 cup of water until it becomes a paste. 
  3. Add the fruit paste to the nut/seed mixture, and add in protein powder if using.  Using a wooden spoon, mix until dough-like.
  4. Pour out on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Put a sheet of wax paper on top and us a rolling pin to flatten.  Shape into a rectangle.  Remove wax paper and bake for 30 minutes.  Slice into 20 pieces.  Store in the fridge and enjoy.
About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

