RSS Feed

Haitian Rice and Beans

Randy and I leave for Haiti again in a few days.  I just love that country.  The people there are so genuine, so real and so loving.  We go with the intentions to love, yet we come back so much more full of love from them that we burst!

We have had the privilege to work with a local non-profit organization, Ncompass and help to oversee a children’s home in Titanyen, Haiti.  The Maranatha House is home to 40 beautiful children, and a generous family who have opened their home, their arms and their hearts to them.  This is my 2nd trip to the Maranatha house and Randy’s 3rd, and we so look forward to seeing our friends again!

Image

ImageImage

Jackson, and his wife and son oversee the Maranatha house.

To learn more about Ncompass, the Maranatha house, or to follow or trip, LIKE us on Facebook.  

Haiti life and Haiti love is so flavorful. And so is their food.

In honor of our upcoming trip, I wanted to leave you with a good ol’ Haitian stand-by recipe that is sure to be loved.

Rice and Beans

  • 2 cups of dried black beans
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, ringed
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 6 tsp of “Better Than Bouillon” or any chicken bouillon
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 2 cups of brown or white rice (dried)
  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes

Soak black beans over night in a large bowl, with 6 cups of water

In a large stock pot, sauté onions, garlic and peppers in olive oil.  When soft, add beans, rice and 8 cups of water.  Add tomatoes with juice, bullion, and pepper.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer.  Cover and cook for 45 minutes, until beans are soft and nearly all water is soaked up.  Stir occasionally to keep from burning.

*This recipe is not low carb, so if you are looking to mix it up to better fit your needs, you can substitute riced cauliflower, and or remove the beans.  If you do either, you will need to reduce the water added.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

