RSS Feed

Flour-less Pancakes

I’ve been off grains and legumes for quite some time now.  Nearly a year, give or take a few encounters.  But never a regular visitor in my diet.

When we were in Haiti a few weeks, we enjoyed lots of rice and beans.  On our way home, we feasted on only the best airport food our terminals  allowed – PIZZA, BEGALS, and Texan BBQ.

I don’t think I ever remember being that bloated.  It was intense.  Now I am not 100% against grains and legumes, but for myself, and my body, they just don’t mess too well.  I know the case over spring break was quite and overload of that stuff, but even in small doses my body seems sluggish and blah!

I have been reading a lot on the paleo lifestyle, and am relating to much of it.  Now, I am not promoting that everyone switch to a paleo eating plan, nor do I think I will do that entirely.  But I do promote that each of us listen to our own body.  To learn what we best function on.  I am so thankful to the Habits of Health program I was coached through and now coach others through, that helped me learn to listen to my body.

So with all that being said, I was exploring different recipes to try.

I’ve been curious about “Paleo Pancakes,” and thought I’d give it a try.  I scooped up some great REAL Maple Syrup from Whole Foods. and I am off!

Paleo pancake

Flourless Pancakes

Slightly adapted from Paleo Feet

Makes 6-7 small pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 small sweet potato or 1/2 large sweet potato
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • sprinkle of sea salt
  • organic virgin coconut oil

Directions:

  • Peal the sweet potato and cut into small pieces.  In a pot of boiling water, boil potatoes until soft.
  • Remove from pot and mash with a fork.
  • In a large bowl, whisk eggs, pumpkin pie spice, baking powder and salt.  Add in potatoes and whisk until a smooth consistancy.
  • Heat oil in a frying pan over medium heat.  When hot, add 1/3 cup of batter. Cook for 2-3 minutes each side.   It helps to fry one pancake at a time.  And add an additional 1/2 tsp of coconut oil with each cake.
  • Serve with 100% REAL Maple Syrup, or top with fruit of choice, or even apple sauce!
About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

