RSS Feed

African Peanut Soup

Posted on

Sorry its been a while since I’ve posted a new recipe.  Its been a busy busy whirl-wind.  I mean, I have to wake up, brush my teeth, drink coffee and its just soooo much to do.  Ok, I really do have more to do than that.  But I don’t really have an excuse.

What I do have though is a new recipe.  I got this one from a former coworker at my bridal shower…. 3 years ago! Its crazy to think I’ve been married to my best friend for nearly 3 years!

This is a great vegetarian soup, and apparently, it has a complete protein with the sweet potato and the peanuts and beans.  (That’s what someone told me, so correct me in the comments if I’m wrong – I haven’t checked)

African Peanut Soup

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium chopped onion
  • 2 minced cloves of garlic
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 8 cups of chicken broth
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 cup uncooked rice
  • 3 cups salsa
  • 3 cups garbanzo beans
  • 2/3 cup chunky peanut butter

Saute onions, garlic and potatoes in the olive oil.  Add chicken broth, cumin and rice.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 30-40 minutes or until rice is soft.  Add salsa, beans and peanut butter and cook for an additional 5 minutes.

LIKE and follow me on Facebook

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

