RSS Feed

its been a while… Cucumber Greek Salad

Its been a while since I’ve taken time out to post something. So here is a quick catch up!

I have been running around like crazy! In a good way.  Growing vegetables, helping people get healthy, cooking lots of great food, lifting weights and soaking up the sun and basking in God’s glory.

Its been an incredible summer and I am getting kind of sad to see it leave.  But not really. I am excited to get back to school soon.  I taught an art camp last week.  “Sun in the City.” We built a giant card board city, made sundials, built things out of clay and melted crayons! It was super fun!!

cardboard city                         crayon melt

I’ve also been working hard at getting my own body into better shape.  About two months ago, I started taking a weight lifting class and have been putting some effort into that.  After a recent check in, I’ve lost 4.2% body fat! I am super stoked!!! You can almost see that really huge muscle just ready to pop out on my arms!!

musclesI’ve also been getting to know many more people as we walk together on their health journeys.  It seriously has been such a blessing to get to know more people.  And to see them get closer and closer to the life THEY want to lead.  Some incredible successes have been a gal dating again! And another was able to cross her legs! And another client is able to walk up a hill and not huff and puff! And another client is using his health journey to inspire those around him! Its so cool how one person’s decision can affect their own life in little and dramatic ways!  If you’ve ever been curious if health is even possible – let me tell you IT IS! But if you need more than that to believe it, please click here and fill out a Request for Information and I’ll give you a call to chat about what it is you’d really like to have in your health.

Our summer has also been filled with some gardening.  Not too much of our own garden.  Although my amazing husband built me some garden boxes to catch the tiny bit of sunlight we have for some zucchini plants.  But we do have some awesome friends with a huge organic garden that we often gather from.  One night, we had a huge dinner party with veggies from their garden. We made this great salad that I thought I’d share.

Cucumber Greek Salad

Lemon Cucumber Greek Salad

  • 8 lemon cucumbers, peeled
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 2 apples
  • 15-20 basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese
  • the juice from one orange
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  1. Dice cucumbers, tomatoes and apples.  Rough chop basil leaves.
  2. Toss all ingredients in a large bowl.  Enjoy!!

I have been so excited to see that so many of you are reading my blog, and reading my cookbook! Thank you Thank you!!!  I am working on my next one featuring Zucchini!  What are some vegetables you’d love to see more recipes about? Comment below

LIKE and follow me on Facebook

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

