RSS Feed

Mindfulness take 2

I keep reading and hearing all about Dream Boards.  Aka, Vision Boards.  I used to be very hesitant about all that kind of stuff and really anything that related to goal setting.

I used to be a pessimist!!!

Its scary to think about the glass-half-empty kind of Katie.  I personally like my more bubbly, optimist self.

A friend of mine and I used to meet up every six months and write goals.  Then we would hold each other accountable to the goals.  But really, we didn’t do too much checking in.  The act of writing and speaking the goals helped create in our minds a sense of “this goal would become my reality.” And when that thought was on replay in our minds, our actions were representative of that mindset.

Goal setting doesn’t have to be something you wish for, but rather something you work for.  And when you work for something rather than wishing for it, you really don’t have much left to be disappointed in.

I used to shy away from goal setting because I was too scared of the disappointment factor – you know, when something doesn’t happen because all I did was wish for it.  At that point in my life, the glass-half-empty-point, I didn’t work toward my goals much.

But now, things have changed.

I am writing my goals and speaking my goals and believing my goals. And my goals are becoming my realities!!! It is really exciting actually.

But sometimes I still run across the setback of FEAR! It seems like such an ugly word really.  I’ve heard it said:

F-false

E-evidence

A-appearing

R-real

And really that’s just it.  When we goal set, we also can see things in our goals and ambitions that might not be true of that goal.  Or maybe they are.  But never-the-less, this fear can cause us to stop chasing and working toward our goal.

So with all that being said, looping back to the idea of creating a dream board. I heard someone I really admire talk about a written form of a dream board. Its more like a journal entry. Written in present tense, but at some point in the future, reflecting back.  In this short piece, you can write about all that you’ve accomplished, how that makes you feel, what you’ve been able to do since you have accomplished your goal(s).

I did this last week and let me tell you that it was quite an incredible mind shift.  My mind captured onto these goals that had fears in them before and made them seem that much more like a reality.  Then I found myself taking actions that matched my goal.  It was wonderful.

I thought it would be fun if I do one in this blog post to give you an idea.  A real one, pertaining to goals I really have.  And you can share your own in the comments below.  We can use this as a platform to hold ourselves and each other accountable.

dont wish for it, work for it

 

“I am sitting on my front porch, drinking my iced coffee.  There is such an incredibly overwhelming sensation of accomplishment.  Praise God from whom all blessings flow.  I feel so privileged that I had a vision years ago and now get to see it in real life.

My life seems centered around food, and health in one way or another.

My garden is so lush.  I have had plants sprouting since the first signs of spring and deep into the fall.  There is so much produce that I get to share much of it with my friends and neighbors.  And in the process, the relationships we’ve built over gardening have gotten stronger.  I love how I get to use my garden as a classroom.  So many new friends have sprouted here as they learn how to sow, grow and tend their own food.

The food doesn’t stay in the garden though.  It migrates its way into my kitchen.  Another classroom.  I so enjoy all of the young women who have come to my house to learn how to feed themselves and their families.  Such skills for healthful cooking that they will pass on to their own children.  And the coolest part is that these are people who might have not been able to normally afford cooking classes, or freshly farmed organic produce.  But I am so blessed that I have to share.  I am blessed to be a blessing.

Its been such an incredible opportunity to get to build relationships with people in my garden and kitchen, and on the phone on the porch and in my office.  It has been so cool to get to know people from all across the US, as we walk together on their health journeys.  To help people go from where they are to where they want to be is LIFE CHANGING. So many people, 1000’s of pounds of fat lost, 1000’s of lives and relationships saved and strengthened because people decided to make their health a priority.  1000’s of people are now able to understand the importance of health and are sharing it with others.

Not only has health coaching been incredible in transforming lives, but it has given me so much freedom of time.  Freedom to garden, to cook, to build relationships, to travel. Europe was so beautiful, just as I remember.  Latin America is better than National Geographic says it is.

And Haiti! Randy and I are able to go back so much more than we ever dreamed.  The children are getting so big, they are learning too about how to grow their own foods, and prepare them healthily.  They are getting an education and sharing it with those around them.  They are seeing God’s love for them, and they are showing it to us 10 fold.  The building project was just finished last year.  We are able to bring in so many people from the community.  They are learning technology, trades and so much more.  Relationships are getting stronger.  And they are teaching me more and more about Haitian cooking.  I feel like Anthony Bourdain.  These travels have been such an inspiration for my cook books.

This is my life.  I teach, I garden, I cook, I write, I love, and I live. “

Go ahead and leave your own dream goals below. I’d love to hear what you all want in your life.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

One response »

  1. *My dream/goal free write was a bit long winded. Yours doesn’t have to be. It can focus on one area in your life. Or it can cover all areas. Just let your fingers type or your hand write. Get your thoughts out and share it with someone. Make it real

    Reply

Leave a Reply

