RSS Feed

Squashed Tip

I frequently get asked

how I do as much as I do.

To be honest, I don’t know other than the grace of God, and the gifting of planning and creativity.  With out planning and creativity (being able to spin things around, twirl in some awesome and sprinkle on some uniqueness) my days would be dull and lifeless.  So I opt for awesome days.  One of the major things that helps me in life stay balanced and sane is to prep food.  I LOVE FOOD. You already know that about me. I love to cook, grocery shop, plan, search for recipes and even sometimes I like to do dishes (this is rare). But for the most part, as much as I love the kitchen, I have too many other things to do than stay in there all day everyday.

So in order to still create healthy, flavorful meals for my husband and myself, and have meals that can turn into lunches and left overs – I cook for 10 rather than 2.

Things just seem to last longer when you have more….

I’ve been cooking up the latest in my Squashed cookbook, so here’s a tip for you:

Squash tip: Roast 1 more squash than you’ll need for your recipe. Keep it in the fridge and use it for another recipe later in the week. Best part about it is that it makes for an easy meal later and you’ll use less electricity heating up your oven only once.

Enjoy!
Comment below on things you do to help your days and weeks go more smoothly with meal prepping

LIKE and follow me on Facebook

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

