RSS Feed

Fat!!!

Imageso I made my own turkey butter- or really I guess ghee might be the better term. But if turkey’s can be butterball, then I guess I can call this butter. 

I’ve been doing some research on the best fats for cooking. For health purposes, for heat purposes and for flavor. I would argue that as far as animal fats go, strive to get the organic, free range style that grew up eating the foods God designed the animal to eat. (ie: not grains) Animal fat has gotten a bad wrap because of cholesterol but new research is debunking what we once believed was the demonic side of fat. We actually need some cholesterol. Do your own research. I’ve learned a tone from listening to the podcast That Paleo Show.

Anyway, back to the turkey butter. I made a giant turkey. And I collected everything that dripped from it. I put In the fridge to let the fat separate. Using a spoon, scoop off the fat and place in a sauce pan to reheat. (render)Strain through a coffee filter to remove any meat and herbs. Apparently those will rot! Yuck.
The you can freeze or fridge it until your ready to use it.

For the rest of the dripping liquid, reheat, strain and use as stock. You can save the bones from the carcass after you’ve picked it clean and boil them in water to make another stock. Chill the liquid to scrap off more turkey butter, and render the same way you did earlier.

Enjoy

Comment below how you used your turkey butter… Prime opportunity coming next week to make your own

LIKE and follow me on Facebook

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Turkey Soup | mybetterbalance

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving’s Squash Dressing | mybetterbalance

Leave a Reply

