RSS Feed

Shopping for a wedding

This coming Wednesday, the day before Thanksgiving, I am catering a wedding. Yea I just said it.

I am catering a wedding!

WHAT!!!! I am pretty excited about this.  I can put my cooking skills to the test.

I spent this morning pouring over my recipes, and writing up my shopping list for this big grocery adventure.  I love grocery shopping so today is going to be extravagant!! 1462992_762393580508_982953177_n

Here is what’s on the menu:

  • Crostinis with a figgy-cherve spread and smoked salmon
  • Spinach and squash cups
  • Honey-balsamic chicken satay
  • Spicy squash, sausage and spinach soup
  • Cheese fondue
  • Hot baked artichoke dip
  • Cucumber and cherve tea sandwiches
  • Turkey and cranberry tea sandwiches
  • PBJ tea sandwiches

I’m pretty excited to pull this off.  Stay tuned to see pictures of how this spread turns out.  If you’ve cooked for a crowd of 30 or more, let me know any tips or tricks you’ve done to pull this off.

LIKE and follow mybetterbalance on Facebook.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

