RSS Feed

Thanksgiving’s Squash Dressing

I’ve been on and off bread for a while now.  More off than on.  But sometimes I give in to that deliciously chewy sensation that comes when biting into a fresh butter croissant, or crunch waffle cone, or a sandwich.  Most of the time, bread doesn’t even shake it’s finger at me.  Most of the time, I can care less about a cookie, or a scone, or the pile of bagels in the multipurpose room at work.  Most of the time I just say no, and there is no struggle.

Yesterday I had a piece of bread with my Green Soup.  And although it tasted great, it left my stomach questioning if it was worth it.  Up until this point, I haven’t experienced any stomach issues with gluten.  I swell up for sure if I eat too much.  Imagine beached whale, with sausage fingers….

Normally my nose just runs.  In fact, I have had a runny nose for the past 10+ years with no understanding as to why.  Until one month where I stopped eating gluten for other reasons and wa-la.  No post-nasal drip.  Minor allergy problem solved.

Ok, anyway.  I woke up this morning with a still sour stomach.  And I remembered as a kid the theory that if your stomach is sour, eat bread to soak up the sourness.  Or maybe that was a theory in college – when I had too much to drink the night before… but it usually wasn’t bread alone that I thought as necessary.  Jack-in-the-Box… please don’t judge.

With Thanksgiving coming up, I am most looking forward to dressing.  Or stuffing.  We called it dressing in our house.  But I feel the need to clarify, because at one Friendsgiving we hosted, I asked someone to bring the dressing and they almost brought Ranch.  My mom makes the best dressing.  Seriously.  Its the most melt-in-your-mouth yumminess.  But I am afraid of the gluten… and what I might do.

So I played around with mom’s recipe and incorporated some non-glutenious squash in place of bread to see how it worked.  Masterpiece I tell ya!  Mom’s has a more gooey texture that is sure not to beat, however, the flavors in this are right on par.  Worth trying.

dressing

Ingredients:

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 4-5 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 4-5 celery stalks
  • 2 cups sliced mushrooms
  • 2 tbsp turkey butter
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 2 tsp ground sage
  • 2 tsp ground rosmary
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 2 granny smith apples, diced (optional)*
  • 1 cup low fat cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  In a large pan, heat turkey butter over medium heat.  Add in diced onions, carrots, celery and mushrooms.
  2. When the veggies are sauteed, add in the ground turkey, sage, rosemary, salt and pepper.
  3. While the turkey is cooking, chop the ends of the squash.  Carefully stand on one end and slice off the exterior skin.  Cut in half and deseed.  Now slice into 1″ cubes.  Add cubes to the pan, along with diced apples.  Cover with a lid and allow to cook for 10 minutes.  Stir occasionally.
  4. Break up the cream cheese into chunks and toss in with the hot squash mixtures.  Pour into a 9×13″ pan and top with Parmesan cheese.  Bake for 15 minutes or until bubbly.

*I thought the apples made for a nice surprise, how ever my husband felt the squash was sweet enough and the apples competed with the flavor of the rosemary.  So I leave these up to you to put in if you wish.  Some like a sweeter dressing and others opt for more savory.  Let me know what you’ve tried in the comments below.

 

 

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

