RSS Feed

bringing your own food

I read this interesting article written by a woman with celiac disorder. She pointed out what happened after she brought her own meal to a dinner party so that she could actually eat with out putting the hostess to extra trouble preparing a gluten free meal. I don’t have celiac, but I try to not eat gluten and/or excess sugar when possible. I’ve brought my own meals to get-togethers and to be honest, its weird, but there is no shame in it. People ask questions and then they get over it. If you have goals you are trying to achieve, do something for yourself, and don’t secumb to the excuse that you don’t want people to ask questions. Its funny how people ask questions when you are making a positive choice toward your health, but will rarely ask you why you’re adding extra syrup in your coffee or extra bacon on your burger… people ask questions because they don’t want to believe that what they are doing is wrong, so instead they make you feel that way… Just my rant…

thoughts???

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

