RSS Feed

Sad soup day

So I made three crock pots of my squash soup for work tomorrow as an edible Christmas gift. And I had a brilliant idea that if take them to the car last night because it would be cold enough. Well I woke up at 1 and looked at my phone… Why would I do that… And it was 43 degrees!!!! That soup probably never got colder than that. So panicked and worried I read on google that food poisoning takes 2-6hrs to set in. So I became a Ginny pig. Then after eating it I reread it could be 2hrs-2days! Ahhhhh I can’t get 25 people sick. So dumped it all!!!!
And as I was trying to fall back asleep, stressed to the max, Randy reminded me that nobody died. Then I had a thought “Jesus is still King.” And that helped me relax. Even the craziest stuff can hit the fan, even the most trivial soup can go bad, and Jesus is still King.
So this morning, exhausted and delusional, I got groceries to start over (only because I told my whole staff not to bring lunch today and I can’t let someone go hungry) and Jesus is still King.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

