RSS Feed

Oops Soup

oops soup

Out of sheer necessity, I decided that I would make my staff lunch for Christmas rather than being crafty. I was planning on making reusable mesh produce bags, but I ran out of time…. I’ll start on them for next year.

So last night, I had made 3 beautiful pots of Spicy Squash and Sausage soup from the Squashed! cookbook.  It turned out so nicely. And I had a brilliant idea that I would take all the crock pots down to my car last night because my weather app said it would get down below 40. Then I wouldn’t have to carry them out at 6 in the morning.

Brilliant, at least I thought so.

Well I woke up at 1am, why, I don’t know.  But I looked at my weather app, and 43 degrees! DANG IT!!! My soup never actually got cold. Panic set in.

What if I get my entire staff sick?!?!

Should I dump it out?

Has it really gone bad?

How long until food poising sets in? So I googled it.  One side said 2-6 hour.  Ok so its 1 am, if I become a ginny pig now, and taste the soup (or eat a bowl full) and I dont die by morning, I wont have to dump it.

So I ate a bowl full, and tried to go back to sleep.  I couldn’t. I kept tossing.  Randy tried to sooth my by saying no body died. Its not the end of the world if I have to dump it.  And then I thought, no matter what, soup bad or good, Jesus is still king.  SO TRUE. I panicked less.  But I still couldn’t sleep.  I googled food poising some more.  And then I read it could set in 12hrs – 2 days later. So I figured a gift is no good if everyone gets sick for the holiday concert Tuesday.  So at 2 am, I dumped it all out.

I slept a few hours, and with a quick trip to the grocery store, and a hot pan in my class room, I threw together OOPS Soup.  Oops, because it was never intended, but still good… great none-the-less.

So here it goes:

  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 tbsp butter
  • 1 cup roughly chopped parsley
  • 2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp garlic
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 21 oz of Hilshire Farms Turkey Kielbasa (1.5 packs)
  • 1 1/2 cans of diced tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cabbage
  • 3 cups of green beans
  • 4 tsp Better Than Bouillon Chicken Stock
  • 6 ounces low fat cream cheese
  1. Saute onions, celery and mushrooms in the butter.  Add in parsley, Italian seasoning, garlic, and black pepper. Once fragrant, add to a crock pot.
  2. Slice Kielbasa sausage, and quickly fry in the pan that had the vegetables.  Once the sausage has browned a bit, add to the crock pot as well.
  3. Add in diced tomatoes with juice, green beans, and cabbage.  Bring to a boil 4 cups of water, stir in cream cheese and chicken bouillon until dissolved.  Add to the crock pot and cook on high for 4 hours.

Calories: 155

Fat: 9      Carbs: 9     Protein: 12     Sodium: 1010 * this is kind of high, so to lower it you can switch out the kielbasa with ground turkey.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

