RSS Feed

Busy-Busy

Do you ever have those moments, where people ask you the over-used question: “What have you been up to?”

In your head, you’re searching for a place to begin.  But you can’t find it, because if what you’re doing began somewhere, it would have had to stopped prior — or never existed.  So unless you want to hear about my birthday, circa 1985, I really have no idea where to start.  My life is so busy.

But to be honest, when it is not busy, I feel like I’ve lost myself in stillness. I don’t know what to do with quit. Rest can be bothersome.

Do any of you feel that way?

My husband is my complete opposite.  I think/know that is why we work so well together and (butt heads so much).  He loves to have down time, it refuels him.  I on the other hand, need to be the Energizer Bunny in order to keep my motor going.  For me, work and energy beget work and energy.

People ask me how I do it.  And although I don’t have a clear answer, I can point you in a direction.  But first off, I must mention something wise I’ve learned from my husband.  Not everyone is created to be busy-busy.  I’ve learned the hard way.  Not all are wired equally.  Randy needs down time to function, I need up time. And if either of us expect the other to act like them, then it just doesn’t work.  So the same can be said for yourself, looking at someone who is busy-busy.  Perhaps you just aren’t meant to be busy-busy.  Perhaps you aren’t wired that way.

But perhaps, by necessity, you need to be busy-busy for a season.

So here are my suggestions for making life a tad easier:

  • Pray.  Ask God for guidance, wisdom, breathe and patients.  Its crazy to think you’ll need patients, but you do. Because, frankly, you can’t do 100% of things right from the gate.  Pray that you will know how to priorities, and that He will bring help for you.  And trust that He will, lean into that.
  • use a calendar, always.  I depend on my iPhone calendar.  But if you don’t have Siri to set your appointments, buy a paper calendar for a dollar that fits into your purse.  Write everything in there, in pencil – incase plans change.
  • Leave a note pad by your bed.  Don’t waste the night thinking about something when you desperately need sleep.  Write it down and turn your brain off.
  • Leave dry-erase markers in the bathroom.  They work great on the mirror, and quickly wipe off with a towel or TP.
  • Create appointments in your iPhone/Droid/Paper Calendar for you to do things in the future.  This works great for simple things like: taking out meat to defrost, or getting groceries.  If it is something you need to remember to do in the future, write it down.  That way you can stop wasting brain space on it now.
  • Take advantage of those reminder features on your phone and computer.  Like I mentioned in the last bullet, if you can jot it down now, you wont have to continue to think about it.
  • Place sticky notes in strategic places.  For example, you can leave a grocery list on your steering wheel — since you’ll be in the car when you’re on your way to the store.
  • If you have a spouse/partner involved in your plan-making, use the invite feature on your phone’s calendar.  It sends them an email with the appointment.  Once they accept, it is loaded into their calendar.
  • Make TO DO lists for each area of your life.  Make check off boxes for each task.  Its fun to check things off.  Also, give yourself TO DO BY dates.  Prioritize.
  • Lastly, enlist help from friends.  You are not in this alone.

I’d love to hear your ideas on how you manage a busy life.  Share them in the comments.

 

Follow me on Facebook

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

