RSS Feed

Home Made Fro Yo!

Seriously, I have a weakness for Frozen Yogurt! Its sooooo good, its bad.  And even though there are 100s of flavors, I always regret it if I don’t just get Tart.

The down side of tart from my favorite yogurt shop, is that each ounce has 7 grabs of sugar carbs.  So i was set on a mission to see if I could make my own, with a little lower carb count.

Image

To make this, take your favorite non fat Greek Yogurt (I use the Kirkland one from Costco with only 10 carbs per cup).  Fill an empty ice cube tray.  I find it best to fill each cube only half way full. This makes for smaller cubes which will be easier to blend later.  Let set for about an hour.  You want the cubes to be firm but not rock solid.

Once they are to that “firm” state, dump them in your blender with 2 Tbsp real maple syrup.  I also add in about 2 Tbsp water.  Blend until pureed.

Enjoy with your favorite toppings.

All in all, it breaks down to about 4 carbs per ounce (if you use the Kirkland Greek Yogurt). And it is significantly cheaper than $.37 an ounce.  And another good thing, I can eat this in my PJs if I really want to… although that hasn’t stopped me before from going out for yogurt… yes i did just admit that.

 

What foods have you had at restaurants that you’ve tried to make at home — either for healthier or cheaper versions?

 

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

