RSS Feed

Coconut Curry Brownies

Today we had our second snow day of 2014.  Its coming down hard for Portland.  We usually don’t get snow, let alone 9-10.” I know this is pretty wimpy to admit, but I’ve got cabin fever.  I don’t sit still well.  So instead of staying at home today, I walked to get coffee.  Up hill, both ways.  Seriously!

photo-28

I had to take a #Sochi #Selfie in all this snow!  Happy Olympics people!

I walked to Blue Moon to get a trusty Americano which they never seem to disappoint.  And then on the way home, I got side tracked and walked my way to Whole Foods. I love that store.  I seriously could spend all day there.  I was looking for a treat and found this unusual beauty.  Coconut Curry Chocolates.  

photo 2-26

Seriously this was one of the most amazing flavor experiences I’ve had in a long time.  Euphoric! Go get yourself some. So I was inspired.  And I thought I could try and make myself some brownies based on this amazing bar.

So I did.  Here you go.

photo 1-27

  • 4 eggs
  • ½ cup applesauce
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1 ½ cup water
  • ½ cup coconut flakes
  • ½ cup flax seed
  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup maple syrup
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • ½ tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ cup chocolate chips (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 350.  If bananas are not super ripe yet, you can place in the blender to ripen.  In a blender, combine eggs, applesauce, bananas, water, coconut flakes, flax seed, cocoa powder, maple syrup, and dates.  Puree until smooth.  If it gets sticky for the blade, add a little bit more water or coconut milk.

2. Pour mix into a large bowl.  Stir in almond flour, vanilla, ginger, curry, baking soda and chocolate chips.  Pour into a greased 9”x13” pan.  Bake for 35-40 minutes.

Nutrition facts (without chocolate chips):

  • 108 calories
  • 16 carbs
  • 5 fat
  • 4 protein

 

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a comment