RSS Feed

Bone Broth

We use a lot of broth in this house.  And when I used to buy it, I would always opt for the organic kind, or the kind with the least amount of chemicals in it….

Chemicals! Who needs those.  Seriously though.  They are in broths, and its funny how I used to eat those square cubes and think nothing of it.  Now I understand that buying organic broth from a box can be a bit expensive.  But if you are already buying organic meat, bone in, than you should never have to buy your own broth again.

Bone broth is super good for you.  Read about it on the Paleo Mom blog.  She has some great info about it, so I wont bother restating it.

Image

Ingredients:

  • a bunch of bones (stick with the same type of animal)
  • aromatic veggies like onions and garlic, celery and carrots
  • herbs and spice (optional)
  • water
  • salt (optional)
  1. In a large stock pot, add bones and veggies.  I don’t like to add herbs while making the stock because they could interfere with the flavor of what I’ll end up using it in later.
  2. Cover with water.
  3. Bring to a boil and simmer for 4 hour. You can also make this in a crock pot.
  4. Strain into heat-safe containers.  (To make this step easier, if you have a strainer that fits in your stock pot, cook the bones and veg inside that).
  5. Stir in 1 tsp of salt if so desired.

*This freezes well

**Money saving tips:

  • if you’re not in the mood to make stock right after picking the meat of the bones, you can pop the bones in a freezer bag and save for later.
  • when chopping veggies, save the ends and bits for a stock.  The ends of onions, peels of carrots, the tops of celery make great additions to stocks, but there is no need to buy veggies that could be used for eating to put in a stock when you can use the junk stuff.  Throw it in the same bag as the bones in the freezer and use it when you’re ready.

About Katie Matheny

I am a teacher by day, and a wanna-be chef by night. I teach art and Spanish at a small school in Salem, Oregon to a fantastic group of soon-to-be world changers. I've loved cooking since I was a kid, and day dreamed while reading Betty Crocker's giant cookbooks. They were my picture books! I also work with a local non-profit that is doing some amazing things in Haiti. I have an amazing husband who I love to pieces. I love and serve Jesus, my King, and am striving to be a better example of who He is in myself. This is my life, in a few short words every-so-often. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a comment